KOSHKONONG MOUNDS — There were no dramatic upsets in the first round of the Open Championship Flight of the Fort Atkinson City Golf Tournament sponsored by the Daily Union at Koshkonong Mounds Country Club.

Top-ranked Mason Kent, the winner of the Medalist Tournament in June, cruised to a victory over 16th-seeded Kyle Danielson. Kent had a seven hole lead with five holes to play.

Defending champion Pat Miller defeated Braeden Wixom by five holes with three holes to play. It’s the first time Wixom is playing in the tournament. Miller won the 2018 Medalist Tournament and the 2018 Match-Play Tournament.

Seventh-seeded Dave Nitardy and third-seeded Jason Griedl each needed all 18 holes to fend off their opponents. Nitardy defeated Scott Housley by one hole and Griedl defeated 14th-seeded Luke Tessman by one hole.

The victory by Nitardy matches him up with Miller, a rematch of the championship match in 2018.

Dan Roloff and Tom Patterson each won their matches by three holes with two left to play. Roloff is the fifth seed and defeated 12th-seeded Sean Halverson. Patterson is the eighth seed and defeated Masterson.

There were two pending matches that had not been completed. Fourth-seeded Mitch Strom and 13th-seeded A.J. Lechman hadn’t completed their match and Sixth-seeded Pete Strom and 11th-seeded Brian Wethal had yet to complete their match. Both matches are scheduled for Saturday morning.

Senior Flight

Top seed Denny Tessman had the most convincing win of the flight with a five-hole lead and four holes to play against Ron Vogel. Tessman won the medalist portion with a strong performance on the second day to steal the low card for the two-day event.

Defending champion John Wilmet advanced after defeating Tom Becker by four holes with two left to play.

Dave Mack and Ken Applegate defeated Dale Sauer and Gib Benoy by two holes with one to play, respectively. The second round will take place between July 11 and July 24.

Second round pairings


Kent vs. Patterson; Roloff vs. M. Strom/A.J. Lechman; Miller vs. Nitardy; Griedl vs. P. Strom/Wethal.


D. Tessman vs. Mack; Wilmet vs. Applegate. The second round will take place between July 11 and July 24.

(0) comments

Welcome to the discussion.

Keep it Clean. Please avoid obscene, vulgar, lewd, racist or sexually-oriented language.
Don't Threaten. Threats of harming another person will not be tolerated.
Be Truthful. Don't knowingly lie about anyone or anything.
Be Nice. No racism, sexism or any sort of -ism that is degrading to another person.
Be Proactive. Use the 'Report' link on each comment to let us know of abusive posts.
Share with Us. We'd love to hear eyewitness accounts, the history behind an article.